The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the I2P eepsites

Masayuki Hatta
6 min readJan 23, 2019

Mostly Harmless.

Photo by Atlas Green on Unsplash

So you are interested in I2P. After installation and some setup, the biggest question would be, what’s next? what can I do with I2P?

There are lots of things you can do with I2P, and one of the nice things is running and browsing “eepsites”. Eepsites are websites in the I2P network, which have .i2p pseudo TLD, only accessible via I2P. You can run eepsites anonymously, and you can browse eepsites anonymously, too. Your identity information is supposed to be lost in onion/garlic routing, so you will not be tracked down by anyone else (at least theoretically). Eepsites are similar to Tor’s Hidden Services.

Some time ago, I wrote about how to run eepsites. I have also covered how to browse eepsites. This time, let’s find out interesting eepsites and have some fun.

Strong anonymity makes discovering eepsites more difficult. Recently, a fearless explorer named “red” painstakingly visited most of known eepsites in person, and took notes what they really are (the raw result can be found here). Based on his(or her) effort, this short guide tries to introduce the best of the current I2P eepsites to you.

Note that I2P eepsites come and go — sometimes they are slow, sometimes they are down, or suddenly gone forever.

Using Jump Services

--

--